Undone by the Infinite

What does infinite mean to me? When have I experienced the power of the word infinity?

I can remember standing on the edge of the Pacific Ocean watching the endless waves crashing against the sand. The water went on forever, the horizon seemed a million miles away.ocean

The waves kept coming and coming as they have done since the beginning of time. It is thrilling to feel that sense of wonder and amazement that overwhelms the soul at these times. I felt like I was part of something endless.

Have you stood on the Prairies and felt that expansive feeling of infinite distance?tracks

I travelled on the “Top of the World” Highway a few years ago. I stood on the highest peak and could look down in every direction. The world stretched out before me and I was overwhelmed by the splendour and I was filled with joy.endless

While on a canoe trip one August, I was witness to the Perseid meteor showerIt was a very black night, the only light came from the billions of stars that are visible in the wilderness of northern Ontario.

The 2010 Perseids over the VLT

The 2010 Perseids over the VLT (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The infinite number of stars was overwhelming. We saw so many meteors it was impossible to count. A truly thrilling experience of the infinite wonder and unfathomable reach of space.

The most memorable moment when I was overwhelmed by the infinite was years ago, yet I remember the feeling as if it was yesterday. Standing in a jeep on the Masai Mara and seeing the huge expanse of endless savannah. Tree in Kenya

zebras

zebras (Photo credit: eggshapedkath)

Suddenly the world seemed much bigger to me. I felt very insignificant. This was God’s handiwork on a grand scale. There were herds of animals in every direction… wildebeest, zebra, antelope, elephants and giraffe.. so many, so many..

I was totally undone.

I knew, in that moment, this world could not be an accident. I knew, without a doubt, that there is a Creator. I knew He is infinite.

6 thoughts on “Undone by the Infinite

Please leave a Reply, I would love to hear from you.

