Inside the Mirror

The weekly photo challenge this week is “inside”. I share these photos of the view inside the mirror. The reflections of what we have already passed by as we travel along the highway, speaks to me of my life’s path. At this time in my life, I can’t help but look back at what was. It is difficult to look inside memories without the events of last year distorting what I see.

For some months after my ex’s arrest, I had to will myself to focus on the now. DIRTYReflecting on our marriage just made me feel angry and hurt.  I cried because I felt all my memories had become tainted and dirty like a dusty road. I felt robbed of all that was good in my life. I could not help but wonder if perhaps it was at this event or that party that something abusive was going on behind my back. I started looking for the signs I had missed that would have revealed the truth.

REFLECTEDAt other times, especially when I was alone and discouraged, I would look inside the mirror of our past and it seemed brighter than the road ahead. The road I am on seemed blurred and uncertain.

Other times the reflection in the mirror is beautiful while the road ahead seems too dark and lonely.Looking Back

These thoughts inside my head were leading me into a pit but God is good. He instructs us to take our eyes off the negative things in our life and focus on the positive. We are instructed to consider the loveliness of life.

 Philippians 4:8 ‘Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.’

If we look inside our memories, we can become bitter and filled with regret. As for me, I strive to focus on the lovely things in my life.  I choose to keep my eyes looking ahead to the path I am on, with wonderful family and friends, great opportunities and perhaps an adventure or two. There are times when I fail, but there is always a hand ready to pick me up and I am so grateful.

I choose to stop looking inside the mirror to see the reflection of what was, rather I am looking through the window into my future.

11 thoughts on “Inside the Mirror

  1. sometimes people come into our lives to teach us lessons that we would not learn otherwise. I certainly feel that way about my ex, at times I am still mad at him – but other times I realize what lessons I was granted to learn, so that I can be a better ‘me’ in the future. I bet these difficulties that you went through were part of the process to create a better ‘you’ as well, even if its hard to see that sometimes.

  2. You are a strong woman Lilly. Perhaps another reflection is this – without you your ex could have been worse. Your goodness and your faith may have tempered a very sick man – that is what I believe.

  3. Yes Maggie the past is done !! Look forward and enjoy the present and plan for an exciting and adventurous future !! U never know the surprizes and enjoyment it will bring ! OOO

  4. You are an Overcomer! A new and happier life waits for you. Please believe in these two things…you’re STRONGER than you may imagine and YOU’RE NOT ALONE. You are an inspiration to me!

Please leave a Reply, I would love to hear from you.

