Weekly Photo Challenge: Carefree

On a recent road trip to the Yukon, I was happily hiking along the trail.

Carefree hiking, far away from all the stress of the world.

Carefree hiking on the Chilkoot Trail, far away from all the stress of the world.

I felt so happy and so carefree, I was skipping in sheer delight at being alive.

The trail took me through the forest.

The trail took me through the forest.

When suddenly…. around a corner, A cute little brown bear cub, just ten feet from me. I stopped and looked around and there, just off in the woods beside me, the mama grizzly and another cub. I realized the danger and I backed up quietly until I felt safe, then backtracked along the trail to a different trail.

I wanted to take more pictures, but wisdom reigned that afternoon and I thought it better to escape while I could.

I wanted to take more pictures, but wisdom won that afternoon and I thought it better to escape while I could.

This incident did not ruin my carefree enjoyment of the trip. In fact, I rather enjoyed my “close encounter” with Mama grizzly and her twins. I am just glad that there was no need for a newspaper report like this very scary story.

16 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Carefree

  1. I just finished reading through your entire blog and am so happy to have caught up with you again. Thank you for sharing both the devastating pain of betrayal and the hard work of rebuilding your life and finding new joy with such courage and honesty. May God continue to bless you and make you a blessing! Good luck with your memoir… yours is a story that needs to be told.

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Carefree | Bastet and Sekhmet

Please leave a Reply, I would love to hear from you.

