What’s in the Bookcase?

The idea of Friday Fictioneers is to write a very short story (100 words) based on a picture prompt (below).
That’s it.                                        ____________________________

ff-books copy

“There’s a secret door in this room, I heard Carl on the phone yesterday.”

“Let’s see if this bookcase moves?” Lily suggested to her brother. “We have to find the documents.” The children pushed to no avail.

They were about to give up when Lily knocked over a few books exposing a lever. Squealing in delight, she pulled hard. The bookcase swung out revealing a small room with a desk. Turning on the lamp, they began searching. In minutes, Lily discovered a folder marked “Adoption”.

She clutched it to herself and danced. “Now I can start looking for my real parents”.

21 thoughts on “What’s in the Bookcase?

  1. Oh, secret rooms behind books! Wonderful! This sounds like the middle of a bigger tale. I like your self-improvement plan Lily. Keep surviving! 🙂

  2. Cool story. Sometimes what we think we want to find does turn out to be a disappointment. I sometimes wondered if I was adopted, as I seem so different from the other members of my family.

Please leave a Reply, I would love to hear from you.

